5 followers Follow

Bug: Orders can Only be Synced Once with the new WooCommerce REST API Integration


With the new WooCommerce "Direct Integration" using the REST API, once an order has been sent by WooCommerce once, WooCommerce won't send it again.

This will break with a workflow followed by many shops where the store's payment processor is set up for "Authorize Only"—the order is created with a status of "On Hold" until a store admin manually captures the charge, upon which the order status changes to "Processing".

So here's what will commonly happen:

  1. Customer places order and pays via Credit Card
  2. The order is created with a status of "On Hold".
  3. ShippingEasy's automated hourly sync occurs. WooCommerce transmits the order info but since the status is "Oh Hold" ShippingEasy ignores it.
  4. The store admin logs in and captures the charge. The order status is changed to "Processing", but since the order info has been sent already during the automated sync, the order will never appear in ShippingEasy.

IMO this is a show stopper bug that will prevent many shops from being able to switch from the plugin to the REST API integration, and must be fixed before the plugin is abandoned.

Jeff Daigle Answered

Official comment


Hello Jeff, and thank you for posting to our community!

Our new WooCommerce REST API integration actually pulls your orders from WooCommerce, instead of our ShippingEasy plugin sending those form your WooCommerce store.

This means that you can specify which orders you want the ShippingEasy API to pull from your WooCommerce store, based on different order statuses. 

You can specify which order statuses you would like ShippingEasy to look for in your WooCommerce store by enabling them with your WooCommerce store settings in ShippingEasy. The link below explains more.

How to: Select which order statuses sync from WooCommerce into ShippingEasy

For your specific situation, I would recommend disabling the 'On Hold' order status within your store settings in ShippingEasy, to avoid having the ShippingEasy API trying to pull those in.

Thank you and happy shipping! 

Jacen P. [ShippingEasy]



Unfortunately that doesn't seem to work.

I configured my client's store to only sync orders with the status of "Processing".

Next I created a test order, which got the initial status of "On Hold" until I captured the charge. That updated the status to "Processing".

Finally I went into the Orders screen in ShippingEasy and performed a manual sync, and the order did not appear, even after waiting several minutes and performing several syncs.

My client's store is running the latest version of WordPress, WooCommerce, and all installed plugins. 

We'll have to stick with the old plugin until this gets fixed. What next steps can I take to get this escalated? Thanks!

Jeff Daigle 0 votes

Helle Jeff,

I'm sorry to hear orders are still not syncing from your clients WooCommerce store.

At this point we would recommend you contact our support directly at, along with the versions of WordPress and WooCommerce your clients are using.

Please be sure to provide your full name, your ShippingEasy account name, and any order numbers that are listed as 'Processing' in WooCommerce, still not syncing to ShippingEasy. We will then be able to investigate further for you.

Thank you.

Jacen P. [ShippingEasy] 0 votes

I have the same problem here. Disabled the plugin and reconnected with REST API, then tried to sync orders. One was on-hold, so I made sure the status settings were correct, changed the order to Processing, then tried to sync again (multiple times and waiting). Only 1 new order synced, and the older order is nowhere to be found, so I'll have to do it manually (not ideal because it will look different than the other orders), and turn the plugin back on and waste even more time. What am I to do?

Mark Lindsey 0 votes

Hello Mark, and thank you for posting to our community.

I recently responded to the email you sent us directly, in which I explained the current limitations with our new WooCommerce Rest API and the workarounds available.

Please reply back to me via email if you have any other question about this.

Thank you.

Jacen P. [ShippingEasy] 0 votes

I am having this same issue with two WooCommerce stores. Also, the "Order Statuses" tab is not there at all, so I can't even add a custom order status to get "complete" orders to sync and auto-complete orders as a workaround.

Josh 0 votes

Hello Josh, and thanks for posting to our community.

I believe Melody emailed you earlier today regarding your current WooCommerce issues. 

In regards to the Order Statuses problem, it is recommended that you install the WooCommerce Order Status Manager plugin. That will enable you to create, edit, and delete custom order statuses and integrate them seamlessly into your WooCommerce order management flow. We have more information about that plugin in the link below under the section titled: "How To Configure ShippingEasy to Import Orders with Custom Order Statuses"

How to: Select which order statuses sync from WooCommerce into ShippingEasy

I hope that information helps but please feel free to email Melody back if you have additional questions about this.

Thank you.

Jacen P. [ShippingEasy] 0 votes

Add a comment:

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Community    browse  


Questions & Answers

Issues & Bugs